ODL & Online Programs are Equivalent to Regular (Campus) Programs - To know more "CHAT NOW"

About Us


The Government of Tamil Nadu established Periyar University in Salem on 17th September 1997 as per the provisions of the Periyar University Act, 1997. The University covers the area comprising four districts namely Salem, Namakkal, Dharmapuri, and Krishnagiri. The University obtained 12(B) and 2(f) status from the University Grants Commission, New Delhi and it was reaccredited by the NAAC with A++ Grade in 2021. The University secured 63rd rank among Indian Universities by MHRD NIRF 2022.

The University is named after the Great Social Reformer E.V. Ramasamy, affectionately called as “Thanthai Periyar”. The University aims at developing knowledge in various fields to realize the maxim inscribed in the logo “Arival Vilayum Ulagu” (Wisdom Maketh the World). “Holistic development of the students” is the primary objective of the esteemed University.

The Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) was introduced for various programmes offered by the University from 2008-09 onwards. From 2009-10 onwards, the University has been offering certificate courses to cater to the current needs of the public. Periyar University provides the Student Support Services such as Library, National Service Scheme, Youth Red Cross, Women’s Welfare Centre and various avenues for sports and games.

Periyar University imparts higher education through three modes: Departments of Study and Research, the affiliated Colleges, and Periyar Institute of Distance Education (PRIDE). The University has 28 departments and 109 affiliated colleges.

Periyar University has launched the Online Degree Programs from Jan 2021 batch and offers various online programs like Bachelor of Arts (English), Bachelor of Commerce, Master of Arts (History), Master of Business Administration, Master of Science (Mathematics), Master of Commerce, Master of Arts (English).